Virtualization

What Is The Difference Between I Moved It And I Copied It In Vmware Virtualization?

It Has Happened To Me Many Times That I Have Had To Copy And Use One Of The VMS I Have Created From The External Hard Drive That I Have, And At The Same Time, There Have Been Cases Where I Wanted To Create A VM.

Virtualization, Download and use it from vSphere on VMware Workstation, but I came across a message saying did you copy or move the machine while turning on the virtual machine?

This came to my attention many times before I decided to search for this message. First of all, note that choosing one of these options that you see in the image below is a must and must be done, but what is the use of these two options and the difference between them?

Message displayed on VMware Workstation. Virtualization

Message displayed in VMware VSPhere

Note that just as your network users have a unique identifier called a SID, and another unique identifier called a GUID, each virtual machine in both the Workstation and VSPhere environments has its own identifier. They are unique in the name of UUID, which stands for Universally Unique Identifier. This unique number is located on the SMBIOS of each of the VMs in your virtual system and is a 16-byte numeric value.

In fact, we can use this UUID to find out which host and path our VM is on. A Note that is a must on a VM Host has a unique UUID and UUID are different from other VM have when you have the option  Moved to Select the image above. You actually retain the previous UUID.

In I moved it, you use the same UUIDs as before

But when you select Copied, the system automatically creates a new UUID.

If I copied it, your entire UUID changes.

If you mistakenly make the UUIDs identical and there are VMs next to each other as Moved, there may be problems in booting your VMs. So consider these points in changing VMs.

A complete list of changes occurred when I copied it and moved it to your virtual machine.