Twitter

How to block or unblock someone on Twitter on a computer or mobile device

It doesn’t matter if you love Twitter, are addicted to it, or don’t like it at all; However, there are times when you want to block someone on Twitter. You may not like one of your followers, or strangers keep sending you spam, and in short, for any reason, you decide to put your hands on the block option! So, now you know how to block different people on Twitter? If not, this article is written exactly for you, So don’t miss it!

Blocking is a feature available on almost all social media platforms and is certainly not limited to Twitter. Having control over who can send you messages and communicate with you through social networks is one of the important measures that prevent harassment and undesirable behaviors of intruders in cyberspace and do not allow them to cause you discomfort. Twitter is no exception to this rule and provides a good and appropriate way to block and unblock users.

What happens when you block someone on Twitter?

You may have just created your Twitter account and want to communicate with your favorite people. Still, unfortunately, since cyberspace is not always clean and healthy, intruders may come to you! This is exactly why Twitter and other social networks have allowed their users to block.

But the method of blocking on Twitter:

on the phone

Blocking and unblocking different people on Twitter is easy. To do this, follow the steps below:

1- Open the Twitter app on your phone.

2- Go to the profile of the person you want to block. Then tap on the three dots in the upper and right corners of the screen. Then, as shown in the image below, select the “Block” option.

Twitter

3- After selecting the block option, Twitter will warn you that by blocking this person, you will no longer be able to receive or send messages from him. Click on the “Block” option to confirm.

Twitter

4- This way, the person you want will be successfully blocked. To unblock any user on Twitter, go to settings. Then tap on your profile in the top left corner of the app.

5- Now click on the “Settings and privacy” option at the top of the Help Center section.

Twitter

6- In this menu, select the “Privacy and safety” option to access the privacy menu, where you can view blocked user accounts.

Twitter

7- As shown in the image below, tap on the “Blocked accounts” option.

8- As you can see, in this section, you can see all the accounts you have blocked. To unblock any of these accounts, tap on the “Blocked” icon next to their name.

In this way, you can block and unblock different people on Twitter. By blocking an account, the person will be removed from your list, and they will no longer be able to follow you and vice versa. In addition, you will no longer receive any notifications from a blocked user account; But if the blocked user sees your profile, he will know that you have blocked him.

Also, an important thing to note is that blocked users can still see your public tweets. If your Twitter profile is public, even blocked users can see your posts, or if someone doesn’t have a Twitter account, they can read your posts using a web browser.

Additionally, blocked users can still report you and will have access to your reported tweets during the reporting process.

on the computer

By blocking a person, you can no longer see his tweets, be tagged in his photos, or be added to his list. In addition, the blocked user can no longer message you. Of course, if your harasser is smart, he may create another user account and come to you again. If this happens, you can report him for harassment using Twitter’s built-in reporting system.

However, the block option is the fastest and best way to eliminate annoying people or spammers.

How to find out if we are blocked on Twitter?

Before you block someone on Twitter, it might be better to find out if you have been blocked yourself! If another user blocks you on Twitter, you won’t be notified, but you can figure it out yourself.

When someone blocks you, your communication paths with him are cut off; But you can find out if you’ve been blocked by opening the Twitter search field and typing in the username of the user’s account (or going directly to their Twitter account via URL).

If you are blocked, Twitter will immediately inform you that you are blocked by displaying the message You’re blocked in the center of the profile of the person in question. In such a situation, you can only see the person’s username, photo, and profile name.

Unfortunately, there is no way around this; Unless you create a new user account on Twitter. Of course, this is not what we suggest. If you are blocked, it is better to evaluate your behavior and find out the reason. Of course, some users sometimes block others without any reason. It’s okay if this happens to you. Instead, you can spend time interacting and communicating with other users who enjoy your content.

How to block others on Twitter with a computer browser?

As we said before, blocking people on Twitter is simple and easy. It is not complicated at all. If you enter Twitter through a computer browser, you can follow the following steps to block the person you want:

1- Open the Twitter website in the browser of your choice on the computer and log in to your account. After logging in, type the username of the user you want to block in the top search bar and click on the Go to profile option. Instead, you can directly type the URL address of the user page you want in the address bar.

2- After entering the user’s profile page who will be blocked, click on the three-point menu next to the follow and message options.

3- From this menu, click on Block @profile option. You can also use the Report profile option to report unpleasant user behavior. Reporting a user will also block him.

4- After this, Twitter will ask you to confirm that you want to block the user. Tap Block to confirm.

After confirmation, the person’s user account will be blocked immediately, and instead of the message and follow options, the Blocked option will be replaced.

5- To unblock the user, click on the Blocked option.

6- With this, Twitter will ask you if you want to unblock the user. Click on the Unblock option to confirm.

When you unblock the user, your profile will be visible to him immediately; That means they can follow you, message you and interact with you like other users.
Establishing better interactions and relationships on Twitter

Sometimes, the only way to deal with those who don’t behave properly in cyberspace and cause harassment to others is to block them. To build better relationships, create Twitter lists and divide your favorite accounts into different categories, such as sports, news, etc.

Of course, sometimes you want to completely leave Twitter and continue your activity on another social network like Instagram. However, one thing you should know is that annoying people are everywhere. It doesn’t matter which social network you are active in; In any case, you will most likely encounter such people.

The best Twitter accounts to follow + the list of the most popular accounts.

The block option in virtual programs is a good solution to deal with such people. Don’t let someone bother you with inappropriate behavior; block them very easily. Instead, connect with people who help you improve or work in your field of interest.

We hope you have used our article today and learned how to block the person you want on Twitter. If you have a specific opinion or suggestion about this post, we will be happy to express it in the comments section of this article.