A Complete Guide and List of HTTP Status Codes

While surfing and browsing different web pages, we may come across pages that give you a message with a number. The most famous of these messages is 404 Not Found, most of you are familiar with its meaning, but there are other messages that you may not be familiar with. Check it thoroughly and get to know their meaning well.

100 series codes, information

The first HTTP codes start with 100, related to sending and receiving information.

-Code 100:
Code 100 means to continue sending (Continue) that the server has received the browser’s request, and the browser can continue sending information.Code 101:

-Code 101 means browser requests for data transfer and protocol change.

-Code 102:

Code 102 means processing. As you know, requests from the browser include various activities and tasks that each need to be processed, so the server processes the requested operation by sending code 102 to the browser.

200 series codes, successful request (Success)

The second series of HTTP codes start with the number 200, which means receiving, agreeing, processing, or a correct and flawless response from the server.

– Code 200:
Code 200 means a successful response (Ok). When you receive code 200 from the server, the desired operation was completed successfully and without errors.

– Code 201:
Code 201 means Created. This code is displayed when a file or a new page is created on the server, and the browser requests that file.

– Code 202:
Code 202 means “Accepted” that the user’s request has been agreed to through the browser.

– Code 203:
Code 203 means non-authoritative information, which means the browser request is successful.

– Code 204:
Code 204 means a response without content (No Content) means that the browser receives the user’s request, but the server’s response does not contain any specific content.

– Code 205:
Code 205 means to reset the content (Reset Content), whose function is similar to code 204, except that the information is reset.

– Code 206:
Code 206 means partial content and is used when we use the option to continue downloading.

300 series codes, redirection

The third series of HTTP codes start with the number 300, which means a response to a user interface (browser) request from the server that is completed by performing another action by the user.

– Code 300:
Code 300 means multiple choices. When the server responds to the browser’s request, it suggests several different sources.

– Code 301:
Code 301 means moving, which means transferring one web address to another by receiving this code from the server.

– Code 302:
Code 302 means Found when the browser is transferred to another address where the requested resource has been found.

– Code 303:
Code 303 means seeing another source (See Other) whose function is similar to code 302, except its emphasis is on the Get method.

– Code 304:
The code 304 means not modified (Not Modified) that the browser requests to send information about the latest changes to the file from the server.

– Code 305:
Code 305 means using a proxy (Use Proxy) that you must use a proxy to connect to a certain source.

– Code 306:
Code 306 means to change the proxy (Switch Proxy), whose function is similar to code 305, with the difference that the request is to change the proxy.

– Code 307:
Code 307 means Temporary Redirect, whose function is similar to codes 302 and 303, with the difference that the transfer takes place at the user’s request.

400 series codes, client error

The fourth series of HTTP codes start with the number 400, which means an error in submitting the user’s request to the server.

– Code 400:
Code 400 means a bad request (Bad Request) that the server cannot understand the user’s request through the browser.

– Code 401:
Code 401 means unauthorized access. The user’s request is not authorized due to the need for confirmation.

– Code 402:
Code 402 means payment is required and is related to user accounts that require payment.

– Code 403:
Code 403 means unauthorized access (Forbidden), and when the user requests the server, that request is restricted for all users. This case is different from the 401 code, and it will not be possible to access even by giving the username and password.

– Code 404:
The 404 code means the source of the request was not found (Not Found) and when the user makes a request to the server that currently does not exist or has been deleted.

– Code 405:
Code 405 means method not allowed (Method Not Allowed), sent by the requested user, and the server does not allow it.

– Code 406:
Code 406 means not accepting (Not Accepted) that the user has sent a request using unauthorized characters that are not allowed for the server.

– Code 407:
The 407 code means the need for proxy authorization (Proxy Authentication Required), which is similar to the 401 code, with the difference that the user must prove his credentials with a proxy.

– Code 408:
Code 408 means the end of the maximum usage time (Request Timeout) and occurs when the server waits for the user’s response but does not receive any response.

– Code 409:
Code 409 means conflict and is for when the user’s request interferes with another operation on the server.

– Code 410:
The 410 code means Gone, and its function is similar to the 401 and 404 codes, except that it tells the browser and the search engine that it should not be requested again.

– Code 411:
Code 411 means not sending the length in the request (Length Required). The server refuses to respond to the user’s request due to not sending the content size.

– Code 412:
Code 412 means Precondition Failed that the user’s request to the server is rejected due to unavailability.

– Code 413:
Code 413 means “Request Entry Too Large” and occurs when the user’s requested string length exceeds the server’s limit.

– Code 414:
Code 414 means too long address (Request URL Too Long) and occurs when the URL web address is too long.

– Code 415:
Code 415 means unsupported format (Unsupported Media Type) and occurs when the server cannot receive the sent format.

– Code 416:
Code 416 means Requested Range Not Satisfiable (Requested Range Not Satisfiable) and occurs when a part of the resource is requested from the server, and that part does not exist.

– Code 417:
Code 417 means Expectation Failed and mean that the headers sent by the user do not match the server’s expectations.

500 series codes, a server error

The fifth series of HTTP codes start with the number 500, which means there is a technical error in the server.

– Code 500:
Code 500 means an internal server error (Server Error) and occurs when there is a problem in the server.

– Code 501:
Code 501 means not completed (Not Implemented) and occurs when the server cannot process the user’s request.

– Code 502:2er

Code 502 means Gateway error or (Bad Gateway), which occurs due to not receiving a response from the main server.

– Code 503:
Code 503 means Service Unavailable and occurs when requests to the server increase and it cannot respond due to high traffic.

– Code 504:
Code 504 means the end of the maximum time (Gateway Timeout) and occurs when the server cannot receive a response from the main server.

– Code 505:
Code 505 means not supporting HTTP or (HTTP Version Not Supported), which occurs because the browser does not support the HTTP protocol.